Mustafa Details Debut Release 'When Smoke Rises'

Watch a video for new single "Ali" now
Mustafa Details Debut Release 'When Smoke Rises'
Following a successful run of singles last year, Mustafa has detailed his debut release. The Toronto poet and songwriter will release When Smoke Rises on May 28 via his own Regent Park Songs.

The eight-song When Smoke Rises features the previously shared "Stay Alive," "Air Forces" and the James Blake-assisted "Come Back." The latest to land is "Ali," which you can hear alongside a self-directed video below.

A February cover story for GQ Middle East revealed that When Smoke Rises features work with Blake, Frank Dukes and Jamie xx, while Sampha is revealed as a guest feature with the arrival of the tracklist. A press release also points to contributions from longtime friends and Regent Park natives Rax, Puffy L'z, cityboymoe, and both the late Ali Rizeig and Smoke Dawg.

"A debut album should examine my life. The joy and the pitfalls and love," Mustafa explained to GQ Middle East. "But I think loss was perhaps preventing me from exploring any other experiences. I wanted to honour my friends' passing and examine their transition with beauty. There's peace in that."

When Smoke Rises

1. Stay Alive
2. Air Forces
3. Separate
4. The Hearse
5. Capo (ft. Sampha)
6. Ali
7. What About Heaven
8. Come Back

Pre-order When Smoke Rises.