The-Dream Shares Album of Sam Cooke Covers, 'IAMSAM'

The-Dream Shares Album of Sam Cooke Covers, 'IAMSAM'
Christmas has come a few days early for fans of R&B singer/producer The-Dream, as he's just dropped a surprise album of Sam Cooke covers. His IAMSAM is streaming now.

The project just made its way online today (December 22), but an Instagram post from The-Dream explained that he began recording the set in 2010, during the making of Beyonce's 4. The-Dream worked on this eight-song collection, which includes renditions of classics like "A Change Is Gonna Come" and "Twistin the Night Away," with Pat Thrall.

It's further explained that in addition to being a tribute to the late soul singer, the album is dedicated to The-Dream's mother, who was a big fan of Cooke's. She passed away 23 years ago tomorrow (December 23).

"My Mother loved a lot of Artist [sic] growing up, but the one we shared the most interest in together was Sam Cooke, so Tonight I give him back to her," The-Dream explained.

You can stream IAMSAM in full down below.


1. Bring It On Home
2. Chain Gang
3. A Change Is Gonna Come
4. Cupid
5. Everybody Loves To Cha Cha
6. Nobody Knows
7. Twistin The Night Away
8. You Send Me