Mirah Preps First New Studio Album in Four Years

Mirah Preps First New Studio Album in Four Years
After years of remixes, collaborations and rarities comps, Mirah is finally set to drop a proper new studio album. On March 12, the K Recs darling has announced she'll deliver (a)spera, a record that will mark her first collection of new solitary tracks since 2004's C'mon Miracle.

As is the norm with such outings, Mirah is once again working with long-time musical cohort Phil Elverum (Mount Eerie/the Microphones), as well as Decemberist Chris Funk, Tara Jane O'Neil and Lori Goldston, who previously joined Mirah for 2007's Share This Place: Stories and Observations. On the more technical side of things, Tucker Marine (the Decemberists, Sufjan Stevens) is handling the engineering duties with an assist from Norfolk & Western's Adam Selzer.

If you're wondering about that (a)spera title, the folks over at Pitchfork did some legwork for us and discovered that the Latin word "aspera" translates to "hardship" or "adversity," while "a spera" means "to hope." Clever, clever.

Here's the tracklisting:

1. "Generosity"
2. "The World Is Falling Apart"
3. "Education"
4. "Shells"
5. "Country of the Future"
6. "The Forest"
7. "Gone Are the Days"
8. "The River"
9. "Bones & Skin"
10. "While We Have the Sun"

Mirah "Don't Die In Me"